start page
THE MONTH OF SARWAN (August). One of a series of illustrations to poems on the Seasons of the Year called Baramasa. Western Indian or Southern Rajasthani school: About 1570. Central Museum, Lahore
THE MONTH OF SARWAN (August)


There are two complete series of paintings illustrating the seasons, very similar in style, in the Lahore Museum. They are among the earliest Rajasthani paintings known, and have all the vigour of a new beginning. The gestures are those of dancers and there is a dance rhythm throughout the compositions. Baramasa are 'songs describing the pleasures of lovers and the pangs of separation according to the moods of the well-marked changes of the Indian seasons, month by month'. They are essentially popular and had been written in the vernacular as early as the eleventh century. The intensity of relief at the coming of the rains is seen in the movements of the two standing girls and of the birds in the tree. Rain can be seen falling from the black storm-clouds. The composition is still 'primitive', in that distant objects are placed above those in the foreground. The blue area seems to be a pool surrounded by a marble terrace. The two rooms are both represented in elevation—in the lower is the heroine with a confidante and attendant: in the upper is a figure which occurs in most of the figures in each series: he is probably intended for the poet of the verses illustrated.
The complete profile of the figures and the solid background are reminiscent of the mediaeval miniatures of Gujarat, but the characteristic facial type, the dress patterns and the transparent saris worn by all the girls are not found in Gujarati painting. The costumes are much more elaborate than in Plate 1, but they seem to be basically the same.
This may probably be an early example of the employment of the codex shape in Western Indian painting. It is more elaborate and less conventionalized than the early seventeenth century Ragini paintings and shows no trace of Mughal influence, differing in this from two Krishna-lila paintings in the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. The text on these is written in mixed Gujarati and Marwari. The dress patterns are similar to those shown here, but the long braided pigtails and floating transparent saris do not appear. Yet the date cannot be much, if at all, after 1600. How greatly have the gestures and colouring been softened during the intervening generation!

Главная
МЕСЯЦ САРВАН (АВГУСТ). Иллюстрация к поэмам Барамаса. Школа западной Индии или южного Раджастана. Около 1570. Центральный музей. Лахоре.
МЕСЯЦ САРВАН (АВГУСТ)


Есть две полных серии миниатюр описывающих сезоны, находятся они в Лахорском музее. Это самые ранние раджастанские миниатюры из известных нам сегодня. Жесты танцоров и танцевальный ритм наполняет всю композицию. Барамаса – это песни описывающие наслаждения влюбленных и боль их расставания в соответствии с индийскими временами года, месяц за месяцем. Они очень популярны, были написаны на родном языке ещё до одиннадцатого века. Интенсивность рельефа перед дождём передается в движениях двух стоящих девушек и птиц на дереве. В небе грозовые тучи. Композиция примитивна и состоит из отдаленных предметов располагающихся над теми, что изображены на переднем плане. Голубой фон похожа на бассейн окруженный мраморной террасой. Две комнаты представлены одна над другой – в нижней части героиня с другом и слугой: в верхней - фигура, которая появляется в каждой серии. Вероятно, изображает автора иллюстрируемой поэмы.
Полный профиль фигур и плотный фон - это отголоски средневековых миниатюр Гуджарата, но вот лица, одежда и прозрачное сари, их не было в гуджаратской живописи. Костюмы продуманы более тщательно чем, например, на первой миниатюре, но, в принципе, они такие же. Одежда поэта похожа на одеяние автора Билхана на миниатюрах Чаура-панчасика.
Возможно, это ранний пример использования формы рукописи западной индийской школы живописи. Всё здесь тщательно продумано и менее условно, чем на миниатюрах Рагини начала семнадцатого века; здесь мы не видим следов влияния могольской живописи, что отличает эту миниатюру от иллюстраций Кришна-лила из Бостонского музея изящных искусств. Текст на этом рисунке написан на смеси гуджаратского и марвари диалектах. Волосы женщин собраны в длинные хвосты, одеты они в прозрачные сари. Датируется около 1600 года. Как сильно жесты и цвет смягчились за время обновления!

искусство Индии